1 point is considered lethal and the rest you can choose to assign either to the player/Planeswalker or to the creature. Yes even if the blocking creature has indestructible
2025-06-30 22:00:50
1006
Sarah Miller :
lolol
2025-07-23 23:34:46
0
Eric Dewey :
First Strike + DT > Trample + DT imo.
2025-07-01 17:51:49
0
Delta 👑 💜 :
trample and death touch... whenever you have a creature that has both of those abilities, all you need to do Is assign 1 damage to each blocking creature, then the remaining damage hits either the player or Planeswalker or battle pretty sure
2025-06-30 21:47:48
405
Primalfears :
702.2c: Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature's toughness. 702.19b goes over creatures with trample only need to assign lethal damage to blockers, and the rest tramples over. 702.12b basicly just say indestructible creatures aren't destroyed by taking lethal damage. So 1 damage to a creature = lethal no matter what the rest goes to the face. Indestructible creatures just get to survive the 1 lethal damage. So a 2/2 with trample and death touch blocked by a 0/6 with indestructible would still do 1 damage to the player unless they double block the 2/2.
2025-07-01 02:49:08
54
Spud :
my google search is 90% MTG interactions
2025-07-01 00:53:28
135
Chrys 💛💜🖤🤍 :
Google saves me on the regs. My spouse and I play casually and I have some memory-related issues so even if I do learn what it means there’s a large chance I’ll forget. 😅😅😅
2025-07-20 00:29:03
0
Carterchexmix :
so cool thing is if you attack with one creature, even a 1/1, and they block with 50 10/10s, everything dies. because death touch doesn't need to deal damage to kill something, you touch it and it dies. this pairs amazing with some random 1/1 death touch and a spell/enchantment that makes everything block kt
2025-07-12 19:07:04
0
Jspeks :
That’s me, my buddies call me to “put a quarter in the judge machine”
2025-06-30 22:22:25
95
Zack 🇨🇦🏳️🌈 :
When you have trample, you must assign AT LEAST lethal damage to each creature blocking it, and then the rest can go though. (You can still assign more if you don't want the damage to trample over i.e. No Mercy or something)
When you have deathtouch, 1 point is considered lethal damage so the rest of the damage can go through without assigning damage equal to the blocker's toughness.
2025-07-01 06:55:54
6
Fritz :
Okay but what about trample+DT vs indestructible?
2025-06-30 22:00:25
2
Chad "DMerald" :
how about trample vs. first strike+deathtouch. my group had like a 20 minute pause on the game trying to figure it out.
2025-07-01 03:23:33
7
Win_Augustine :
I straight up thought Jack Black was making a MTG post when this video started lol. The resemblance isn’t that strong outside a first glance, but I almost just accepted it as reality and scrolled
2025-07-05 20:17:56
2
Helldiver_Bro :
It gets more confusing read 702.19c. It breaks the rules with ‘lethal damage’ and ‘Trample’ 510.1c 120.a, 702.19b. Say for 702.19c if a creature blocked the ‘Trample’ creature I got removed, the trample creature still gets to deal with damage, despite lethal damage, never been dealt. Proof “reading the cards does not explain the cards”
2025-07-01 05:16:29
0
Harleys Boyfriend :
indestructible not blocking all damage in this scenario really doesn't make sense, no amount of damage can kill a creature with indestructible so none should be left over, the only way to kill them is to -1/-1 them or exile so why trample goes through still is weird
2025-07-01 04:30:33
1
Aydun Ballard :
Different from what most people say rules as written in the MTG rulebook. You will subtract creatures toughness from the damage to your dealing and then transfer it to the player so you don’t just take one damage away just because it has death touch. Let’s say your creature was dealing five damage and has trample death touch the opponents creature has 4 toughness They will only take one point of damage to their life.
2025-07-01 15:58:21
0
Big Dan :
now add double strike into the mix
2025-07-01 15:00:05
1
grim1619 :
deathtouch was made to stop trample so as someone who has played MTG for 21 years now yes deathtouch stops trample
2025-07-02 18:09:02
0
MaztrOvPupp3tz :
This also works through protection. If you’re 6/6 w/ trample deathtouch gets blocked by a X/10 it still only needs to assign 1 point to trample through for the 5
2025-07-10 19:23:11
0
Jojo Lacke :
Me with my Fynn deck 😫
2025-06-30 21:47:05
2
skycaptain502 :
I love this interaction, I built a Minotaur deck in modern for this exact reason. DT: 1 point of damage is lethal. Trample: all additional damage is dealt to the player. Ex: block my 2/2 T & DT with a 10/10, you still take 1 to your face.
2025-06-30 22:12:26
54
Miitor :
the rule of damage assignation used to say (haven't read the rules since 2015) you have to assign at least enough damage so that the other creature dies, the rest goes to the player, since dt makes 1 hit to be lethal the res can be assigned to the player
2025-07-02 02:41:10
1
Inya :
LOLOL. This was perf 💅
2025-07-04 01:46:37
2
Mission In Progress :
The only time trample-death touch does not get reassigned after the first point, is if the blocking creature has protection from (insert color) and your creature has that color in its identity. Otherwise it gets reassigned as you need for each blocking creature, and any additional will continue on to the planeswalker/player
2025-07-01 18:43:13
0
Ari :
Okay but like, what was the answer?
2025-06-30 21:48:28
6
To see more videos from user @scharadetv, please go to the Tikwm
homepage.